Ten Thoughts on Whole Living

21 Mar

My favorite magazine of all time was called “Body and Soul”.  I say was because I have not seen it anywhere this year, I am thinking they might have discontinued the publication (if anyone knows differently please let me know!).  I’ve searched all my usual magazine haunts, Walgreen’s, Rite aid, Walmart, Target, nada.  Makes me really sad because a dear friend (hey giiiirl), about two years ago, showed me a copy and it was instant love.  Not only was “Body and Soul” filled with yummy healthy recipes and tips on easy workout routines, it addressed the mental part of well being.  Whole living as it is very appropriately called.  It’s not about strict diets and vigorous physical and mental challenges.  It is about getting back to basics, simplifying, redirecting your priorities.

The page I am about to share with you is one that I ripped out of my magazine, and it has been center stage in my kitchen, right on the fridge, for the past year and a half now.  I always glance at it when I go to prepare something and it is such a sweet, non-intimidating reminder to taking care of yourself and your life.

Ten Thoughts on Whole Living

by Terri Trespicio

1.  See your mistakes not as personal flaws but as the source of your most valuable lessons.

2.  When it comes to living greener, a little planning goes a long way.

3.  Explore gentler, more natural remedies

4.  Authenticity means acting like the kind of person you most want to be.

5.  Explore locally grown foods, and discover the people and resources behind what you eat.

6.  Experiment with exercise that soothes as well as strengthens.

7.  In refusing to forgive old hurts, you live them over again.  Learn to let go.

8.  Think of each breath as an invitation to wellness and balance.

9.  Cultivate a few practices that keep you whole

10.  Toss the old ideas you have about yourself and discover the real you!

5 Responses to “Ten Thoughts on Whole Living”

  1. Laurie March 21, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    Lovely post! I loved that magazine too! I think maybe it changed names– I think it’s called “Whole Living” now– but I’m not sure!

  2. alaskaseafox March 22, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    You are fabulous so I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Come on over to pick it up!

    http://gardenmyhome.wordpress.com

    Keep up the good work!

    Congrats!

    Alaska Sea Fox

    • thehippiehousewife March 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Oh wow thanks! I really appreciate that since I feel like my blogging is so scattered (much like my brain)

      • alaskaseafox March 23, 2012 at 12:20 am #

        Versatile, Scattered Tomayto, Tomahto

        LOL You are great, life is scattered, what would we do without a bit of this and that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

