6 Nov

This is totally how I feel today, except I am going about it in a much less attractive fashion.  Subtract cute little dress, insert saggy sweats and a t-shirt that droops on my shoulders , lending itself to the idea that maybe even cotton gets depressed.  Not that I am depressed, just kind of tired in a world worn kind of way.  Its kind of comfortable.

I made Oatmeal raisin cookies two days ago, but they just weren’t right.  I mean they tasted fine, my husband has been devouring them, but as a cook and a comfort eater they just didn’t hit the right button on my feed ‘o’ meter.  A friend of mine who is a much better baker then I, sent me a recipe which I need to try but I thought I would share it with you first, so that if you happen to be feeling a little more energetic today then myself, you can inform me if they hit the right button for you.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

 Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies 

48 Servings Prep: 10 min. Bake: 15 min./batch + cooling

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon Spice Islands®, All Natural, No Corn Syrup Added, Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1-1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

In a bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in
egg and vanilla. Combine the flour, oats, baking soda and cinnamon;
stir into creamed mixture alternately with pumpkin. Fold in
chocolate chips.
Drop by tablespoonfuls onto greased baking sheets. Bake at 350°
for 12-13 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to
cool. Yield: 4 dozen.

Have a wonderful Saturday everyone.  No matter what kind of Saturday it might be.

3 Responses to “”

  1. Joy November 7, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I love your blog. Did you do all the design on your own?

    • thehippiehousewife November 7, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Yes I did 🙂 But I can’t take too much credit because WordPress walks you through most everything and its pretty simple

  2. Jess November 13, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Thanks for calling me a great baker. 🙂

    My question is…why don’t we bake more together? Tomorrow…if all goes to plan…I will be making oatmeal reese’s pieces cookies and whatever else I can find with pumpkin…that isn’t pumpkin pie. I may make some pie crusts too…if you want to come over…it’d be awesome! I’m going to listen to Christmas music and wear an apron.

Leave a Reply

