No spoilers here

19 Nov

My hubby says I am a spoiler queen, but I am out to prove him wrong, so I promise you the reader that this will contain not a single spoiler!  Saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows last night, midnight showing of course, the only way I watch the Harry Potter movies.  Every Harry Potter movie before I always had to sit in the neck cranking seats, you know those first three rows in a theater that no person EVER wants to sit in.  It’s not easy to keep up with a fast paced action scene when you are 5 feet from the screen and everything looks like a huge blur.  I was determined this year to not let that happen so we left two hours early!  To no avail….every teen from 3 counties must have been there.  Every single one was dressed up, high on sugar, and possessed any decent seat available.  So there I was, three rows back from the screen again.  *Sigh*  I guess that is what I get for being the “old” person at the midnight showing.  Twenty-eight is not old, I know this but when you are sitting next to a group of giggling 12 years old girls, you tend to start feeling not so young anymore.  They were adorable though, the 12 yr old girls I mean.  During the movie they gasped, cried, squealed, giggled (at the mushy boy/girl scenes) and generally had a blast.  I found myself enjoying the movie that much more, I was caught up in the remembrance of being a little girl again, and having everything mean SO MUCH.  It was really enjoyable.  I didn’t even mind their side whispers, or noises because I knew it was stemming from how involved they were in the moment.  It was nice to have that little reminder, that there still is innocence in the world and that little things do mean a lot.  So thank you, group of 12-year-old girls.  You helped this  28 yr old girly-woman, become a little less disenchanted with the world and created a moment that may be silly but I don’t think I will forget.

4 Responses to “No spoilers here”

  1. Cindy November 19, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    Bethany..I’ve got you beat…I was the oldest person there last night! LOL. It was the first time I’ve ever gone to a midnight showing..waited 2 hours outside..freezing..and half hour inside… I think we got the 6th or 7th row from the front! lol.. I want to re-read the books now!

    • thehippiehousewife November 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

      Hah, its totally worth it though, isn’t it? I love how excited everyone gets, plus it’s the perfect place for one of my favorite pastimes, people watching! In a non-creepy way of course.

  2. NatalieBrooke November 21, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    hahah!! I am a spoiler queen too – I can totally relate. Spoilers don’t bother me so I guess I just don’t think before it blurts out.. Glad you enjoyed the movie! Ps, you are most definitely not old!

    • thehippiehousewife December 5, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

      Yeah! I just get so excited and wanna talk about what happens! I can’t help it. I so need to be in a book club or something.

Leave a Reply

