I know what I’m gonna do tomorrow, and the next day, and the next year, and the year after that.

2 Jan

When it comes to New Year resolutions, I try not to think unrealistically.  I know if I make a ton of resolutions, I won’t even follow one.  To make only a couple important ones is the way to go.  At least for me.  This year my goal is to be less afraid of confrontation.  One of my biggest flaws is passive-aggressive’ness, and all its ever brought me was stress, anxiety, and bursts of unwanted temper.  Christians, or if you are not the religious sort, People with the gift or free will, are encouraged to be honest about their feelings, to face what is causing them strife, to stand up for themselves if the situation calls for it.  Now I’m not trying to go out there and punch that woman who was rude to me the other day.  That isn’t what this is about.  The whole idea for me is to take my negative emotions and deal with them in a healthy way.  For example, “Hey Martha, yesterday when you said you hated my world-famous roast, it really hurt my feelings.  I don’t expect everyone to love it but you could have been nicer about it.”  It sounds like something everyone learns in Sunday School but in actuality its a really hard task!  How much easier would it be to just hold in that resentment and talk about Martha behind her back, or not say anything till one day Martha  breaks a glass in an innocent accident and I freak out on her.  Oh my gosh I have been doing that way to much in my life.  So this New Year I am learning to face my fears and confront what needs to be confronted.

I also need to get back to what The Hippie Housewife is all about and that is cooking!!!  I am proud to say I have mastered a couple of recipes in 2010 (see Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate chip cookie recipe in an earlier post, and the Slow Cooker recipe for roast) and am ready to move on to new challenges!  I would love to receive some recipes from you as well!  I love learning old family favorites!  Since it is January of 2011 I will focus on recipes that are lighter on the waistband but are still chock full of the ingredients we all love (like Butter) 🙂

If you are looking for a way to help cleanse your system and boost your metabolism  I highly suggest taking the route of Green tea.  That simple little drink is a miracle worker.  The easiest way to drink it is iced with honey (or sometimes I use one splenda) and if you only drink that paired with water all day for a couple of weeks I promise you will start to notice a difference in your health and physical appearance.  It even helps clear up skin!!  If you don’t feel like drinking it you can buy Matcha, which is powdered green tea leaves (ever have a green tea latte at Starbucks?  That is what they use in it).  Here is some yummy green tea recipes which I hope you enjoy as much as I do.  Lets hear it for the amazing power of nature!

Green Tea Smoothie – Simple
A simple and nutritious breakfast food, made with matcha tea and yogurt.

  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp honey or sugar
  • 1/2 cup ice cubes
  • 1 tsp ingredient grade matcha

Blend ingredients together in electric blender.  Pour into a tall glass.

 

Matcha Tea Cake
Yield: One 9-inch round cake, to serve 6

  • 3 ounces (3/4 cup) cake flour
  • 1 t. Matcha tea (ingredient grade)
  • 6 ounces (4) whole large eggs, at room temperature
  • 3 ounces (scant ½ cup) granulated sugar
  • Powdered sugar for dusting the top of the cake before serving, if desired

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Sift the cake flour with the tea three times. Using aerosolized pan spray, coat the bottom of a 9-inch round cake pan lightly. Place a round of parchment paper on the bottom of the pan and spray the parchment lightly. Set the pan aside.

Place the eggs and sugar into a heatproof bowl. Place the bowl over a pot of simmering water (the bottom of the bowl should be above the level of the water). Whisking constantly, heat until the eggs and sugar feel warm to the touch (approximately 100-110 degrees F.). Then pour the mixture into the bowl of an electric mixer, outfitted with a whisk attachment, and beat until light in color and texture, approximately tripled in volume. Then, gently but thoroughly, fold the dry ingredients into the egg foam without deflating, making sure that there is no undissolved flour lurking at the bottom of the mixing bowl. Immediately scoop the mixture into the prepared cake pan and bake for approximately 25 minutes, or until the cake tests done when a skewer is inserted into the center. Cool on a rack. Dust with sifted powdered sugar just before serving, if desired.

Leave a Reply

