Netflix is my Life Saver

11 Feb

If I’d as much money as I could to spend, I never would cry “Old chairs to mend, Old chairs to mend, Old chairs to mend;” I never would cry “Old chairs to mend.” If I’d as much money as I could tell, I never would cry “Old clothes to sell, Old clothes to sell, Old clothes to sell;” I never would cry “Old clothes to sell.”

This Mother Goose rhyme is the story of my life.  I don’t fix chairs but the old clothes thing is spot on.  Actually I am in the middle of selling my first vintage item on Ebay and I am super pumped!  But that isn’t what this post is about so moving on.

My husband and I are trying to rein in the spending.  Something neither of us is very talented at.  But since our savings is next to nill its time to “grow up”.  First thing to get cut?  Cable.  Channel surfing 100+ channels is a unnecessary luxury.   Do I miss it?  For sure,  especially my guilty pleasure, Nickelodeon and the Style Channel.  That is where the hero of this story comes in.  Netflix!  For just 17 bucks a month we receive 3 Dvd’s in the mail at a time, for us to keep for however long we choose.  Yes that is right folks, no late fees!!  Which is amazing for a procrastinate like me.  So we went from 150 a month to 17 a month for entertainment.  The best part of Netflix for me is all the foreign films I get to watch!  My newest favorite is called  “Seraphine”  and is  the heart-rending story of the mentally handicapped painter Seraphine Louis, who was orphaned at a young age and was forced into a life of harsh manual labor.  I fell in love with the story of this woman’s life and how her painting was her expression of her love and devotion to God.

Mmmm how I love to cuddle up and watch a foreign film.

My husbands favorite things about Netflix are all the 90’s TV drama’s a person could ask for.  Did I mention my hubby was a HUGE “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” fan?  So not  only can he watch every single freaking season of Buffy (there are seven),  he can also watch “Angel” the companion series.  Oh Joy.  Now he has discovered “Battle Star Galactica”.  Now I am a true blue “Star Trek Next Generation” fan but beyond that I do not entirely enjoy space shows.  Gotta be fair though, he hates my foreign films just about as much as I hate his 90’s melodramas.

The point is that there is something for every fan boy on Netflix!  I was able to catch up on “30 Rock” since I can no longer watch it on tv, and discovered the uber hilarious show “Parks and Recreation”.

If it sounds like we watch a lot of TV, you’d be right in that assumption.  But again that is all part of the saving money aspect of our newly imposed budget.  We haven’t quite gotten the hang of it yet, so in attempts to save money we pretty much avoid going out altogether.

I have recently started a well-paying hostess job at an upscale restaurant though and am excited to see the belt of our budget loosen just a tad.  Until my first paycheck though, Netflix is the superman of my off time.

 

4 Responses to “Netflix is my Life Saver”

  1. Shauna February 11, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Netflix is amazing!! And you are right, $150 a month for cable is absolutely ridiculous, especially when you consider that one third of cable is advertisements. So you’re paying huge bucks to be solicited to. Noo thank you. We have never owned cable and thanks to Netflix we never will… though we’re happy with the $10/month plan (because you know, you can watch a lot of things instantly. The DVDs we get in the mail are actually just an afterthought for us).

    Congrats on the job!

    • thehippiehousewife February 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks Shauna! I am happy with it. Plus it is close to my home so bonus!

  2. cindy February 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Parks and Recreation is one of our favorite shows! That and Modern Family! Glad you found it and enjoy it!

    • thehippiehousewife February 12, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Oh my gosh I laugh so hard when I watch it. I am in love with Leslie Knope!

Leave a Reply

