Hiatus, Heat, and Hair

25 Jul

So its been at least a few months since last I posted.  My to my surprise and delight my blog had six views today!  For being the most random blogger, I have some of the most faithful readers and I love that about you!

Summer has been lovely so far except this past weekend where the heat and humidity decided to wreck a little havoc on this western PA girl.  I love warmth, part cat that way,  love the sun tingling on my skin, I am an avid sunbather ( note: it takes about fifteen minutes of lathering on sunscreen because I’m a burner) and feel happiest chock full of vitamin D.  Humidity paired with heat however is my kryptonit.  Not only do I turn from a happy cheerful sunbather, to a cranky, sticky mess but my hair takes on a life of its own as well and is most comparable to straw if straw could be curly.  Maybe raffia, because I am pretty sure you can curl thatAnyway, so lately that is who I have become, this raffia headed, sticky, crank ball. 

Thankfully I surround myself with a creative bunch, and my hubby and I have no qualms about going a little Hillbilly, so we invested in one of those inflatable pools that’s about a foot and a half deep and ten feet around.  Perfect size for lounging, or as Mr. Man discovered, floating on an inner tube.

Oh and big news!  I am trying out the blonde life for a little while!  Having been a brunette for 28 years now I felt that the time for change had come so about a week and a half ago I went under the bleach and emerged golden!  It’s totally fun and I am enjoying myself immensely, although I must say I was not ready for the amount of extra styling it takes for processed hair.  Going with my natural color for so long spoiled me because hair O’naturale is so easy and soft and manageable where as bleached or dyed hair takes tender loving care.  Ha, oh well time to stop being lazy where hair is concerned!

The new me!

Oh and dear readers I have a request for you!  In two weeks from tomorrow I will be turning 29 (yikes)!  My aunt just turned 59 and she is creating a list of 60 things to do before she turns 60 and I thought that idea was simply inspired.  So on my 29th birthday I am going to create my list of 30 things to do before I turn 30.  I would love it if you sent me suggestions!  I am looking at this as kind of like a mini bucket list so big ideas are great but lets just remember that money is a factor so going big on a budget will be the motto for the list.  Yay!

Well I am glad you guys have stuck around during my hiatus and this has defiantly encouraged me to strive to start blogging regularly again.

6 Responses to “Hiatus, Heat, and Hair”

  1. Maggie July 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    go horseback riding and bring a picnic!

  2. Brian July 25, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    1 out your list of 30: see Brian Bernens before he goes back to college because he is awesome

  3. Un moment de mode August 7, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I love this! I am 28 and a half and I think it’s a great idea. I wish you lived closer to san diego bc I’d love to add meet up with a fellow style blogger for tea and thrifting to my list and you’d be my top choice of companion on that venture!
    xx
    jessica

    • thehippiehousewife August 8, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      You are the sweetest thing ever!! Now I wish we lived closer too cuz I don’t know very many people my age (most all my friends are younger then me) and I am always looking for another kindred spirit. Lets be blog friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

