New Chapter

3 Oct

I am about to embark on an adventure.  One of those big, life changing kinds, that scare the dickens out of me to be honest.  I am starting a career.   A career that I have recently invested a huge chunk of cash into and will be investing about a half of years time learning the trade.  I am becoming a Hatha Yoga instructor.  My training starts October 16th and I will not be certified until April 2012.  It is about 200 hours worth of time which does not include at home practice.

I can’t exactly pinpoint what lead me to this huge decision.  I believe it was a combination of frustration with having a job I am not proud of (even though it was a decent honest way to help pay the bills), knowing I have more to give in life, and wanting to do something that makes me feel better outside and in.  I haven’t even been taking yoga that long.  I started this past spring and fell in love with it immediately.  The straightforwardness of yoga, the purity and focus of it, the strength of mind and body that is entailed.  It was the closet I have come to mind cleansing exercise since I studied ballet.

What fully pushed me towards Yoga as a lifelong pursuit was what seemed to me as an answer to prayer.  I have been extremely frustrated with the stagnate state of the jobs that I always find myself ending up in.  Not that there is anything wrong with working hard at a boring job to pay the bills, its something honorable.  But,  I felt that inside I have something to give, something to offer and my current position was not the right outlet for it.  I prayed that God would help me find something that would offer the chance  to fulfill that longing inside, that gift that wants to be set free.  The next day I went to my yoga class and all was normal except at the end of class, my instructor asked everyone  if we would be interested in her offering a Teachers Training course.  Instantly that caught my attention.  It seemed so simple and honest, a straightforward answer to my prayer.  God is not going to force answers upon us, we have to use the wisdom he instills in us to be able to recognize when HE is offering us an answer.  This  in my heart, felt like an answer.

Sooooooo October 16th, marks the beginning of this adventure.  I am filled with a mixture of fear, excitement, uncertainty, and determination.  My darling hubby has been bearing  the brunt of these tremulous emotions like a champ and has even offered to help me with my pre-class homework.  Haha, boy is he in for a treat when I let him listen to the Sanskrit names for every position, that I have to memorize.  Anyway, I am planning on recording my whole experience in here, so stay tuned!

4 Responses to “New Chapter”

  1. Aarean October 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    GOOOOOOOOOOO luck!!!!
    I stumbled upon your blog and just wanted to say hi!
    xoxoox,
    Aarean

    colorissue.blogspot.com

    (I am doing a great giveaway I think you’ll like! SO come on over and visit!)

    • thehippiehousewife November 10, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      I will definitely check out your blog! Thanks for reading mine 🙂

  2. Mindy November 25, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Found you by accident. Always the best things happen that way. I am a painter, and I just happened to paint a Reikki masters home, she is in her 70’s and ready to retire. She tells me I have a gift I need to do this. This would be a total career change. How did you decide? My heart and spirit say yes my practical side is not sure.

    • thehippiehousewife December 15, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      I sent you an email to reply to this comment, sorry it wasn’t sooner I hope it is helpful!

Leave a Reply

