Happy Sunday!

29 Jan

Sunday is such a beautiful day, and such a wonderful word if you think about it.  When I think of Sunday, my mind is filled with thoughts of going to church in pretty frocks, mugs full of coffee or tea, home cooked meals, family, and love.

I haven’t been to church in a while sad to say, but I try in my own little way to keep it a special day, a little gift from God at the end of the week.  It has been hard since my Yoga Teacher Training Course is every other Sunday, so two Sundays a week, I am working hard and concentrating my brains out.  Today however I was off!  So while doing a few odds and ends around the house I made this a special day.  Started it off with a bath (not sure why but bathing in the morning with the sun streaming in is my favorite bath time),  then after filling the washing machine and waiting for it to be done, I started a new series which I actually just heard of, “Downton Abbey”.  Such a great show!  Love the grand old houses, the gardens, and the gowns *swoon*.

My poor hubby received no such luxuries today, he had to go into work, like he does every Sunday.  I am so proud of my hard-working man who I like to have something tasty waiting for him when he gets home (food, to clarify to those pondering that sentence).  So today I am making homemade granola, which I am excited to say turned out amazing!  So I am happy to share:

The Hippie Housewife’s

  “Sunday Granola”

Preheat oven to 200 degrees

Dry Ingredients:

10 cups rolled oats  (  I just bought the container that simply said oatmeal instead of instant oatmeal)

1 cup dark brown sugar

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups grated coconut

1 1/2 cups chopped pecans

1 cup dry milk  (should be in the baking isle)

2 Tbsp flax seeds

Wet Ingredients:

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup honey

2 eggs, beaten

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup all natural maple syrup

1/2 cup warm water
Mix dry ingredients in a big bowl.  Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl.  Combine the two ( wash your hands, fingers work great for this!).  After it is fully stirred place in two cookie sheets with sides.  Heat for 20-40 mins, stirring twice during baking.  Stir again when removed from oven to cool.  Now is the time to add raisins if you want some.  Store in airtight container.

Hope your Sunday was a good one and I hope you make the granola! 

Leave a Reply

